How to create a cosmic galaxy cake

baking, birthday cake, buttercream, cakes, frosting, layer cake, recipe, recipes, techniques, Uncategorized

Wow.  When I first created my cosmic galaxy cupcakes I had no idea so many of you would be interested in how to make them too!  It’s been great to see so many of you visiting my site and giving the technique a go, and it’s why I set up this blog in the first place.

IMG_5086

So the past few months, I’ve been thinking about what to make that would appeal to all you galaxy lovers out there.  I really hope this galaxy cake tutorial interests as many of you!  This technique is just as simple as the cupcakes, and just as effective.  Read on for how I did it.

To ice a standard 3 layer cake measuring 8 inches across you’ll need:

  • 300g butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • 675g icing sugar
  • gel food colourings in 4 cosmic colours including black.
  • edible gold dust

Cream the butter for a good five minutes until soft and fluffy.  Add the icing sugar in 2 stages, beating well between each, then add the milk and vanilla and beat for a good five minutes so it’s lovely and light.  Crumb coat the cake with a very thin layer of icing and pop in the fridge for half an hour.

Now we can get started on the colours!  You’ll be using a black base so tint about half of it black – you may need quite a lot of gel to get it dark.  Using a palette knife, cover the cake in a nice thick layer of black icing.

Divide the rest into three bowls and dye three other colours – I went for pink, teal and blue. What you need to do next is roughly dot on blobs of each colour around the cake at random, leaving some areas uncovered and some with a few shades close together.

img_6687

It looks a bit of a mess right now, but don’t panic!  The next step will make everything look lovely and cosmic.  Take your palette knife or icing scraper and smooth the icing until it’s nice and level all the way round the cake.  You should end up with some thing a bit like this:

img_6688

I like how the colours all melt into one.  If you want to add some stars to your galaxy, take your gold shimmer dust and flick it on using a small dry paintbrush.  You can leave your cake there as a spectacular cosmic cake, or go a step further and make a dark chocolate drip too!  My recipe for one is on my mint choc chip oreo cake blog.

img_6706

Here’s my finished cake!  I hope you agree it’s a pretty cosmic showstopper.  And it makes a nice change for when a galaxy cupcake just isn’t big enough.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to create a cosmic galaxy cake

    1. This sounds fun!! I’ve never made a smash cake before, but from what I’ve read you would maybe want a 4 inch sponge? In which case I would recommend a quarter recipe of a standard 8 inch cake, and maybe a half of the of the icing I have on this recipe, just to make sure you have enough to go around. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

